Exploring cultures and communities – the slow way

Images from the contested territories of Abkhazia, Nagorno Karabakh, South Ossetia and Transnistria taken by Karlos Zurutuza. All four states have announced their independence without being recognised as such by the international community. Hover over a picture to see its caption and click on it to enlarge it.